The Sisterhood Prequel Series Adds Mark Strong & More to Cast

The cast of the upcoming Dune prequel Dune: The Sisterhood continues to grow, with Variety reporting that three more actors have joined onto the series.

RELATED: Dune: The Sisterhood Prequel Series Loses Co-Showrunner

According to the report, the upcoming series will see Mark Strong, Jade Anouka, and Chris Mason all joining the cast. Strong (Kingsman, 1917) will play Emperor Javicco Corrino, described as “a man from a great line of war-time Emperors, who is called upon to govern the Imperium and manage a fragile peace.”

Anouka (His Dark Materials) will play Sister Theodosia, “a talented and ambitious acolyte at the Sisterhood who harbors a dangerous secret about her past.” Finally, Mason (Broadchurch) will play Keiran Atreides, “a Swordmaster to a Great House whose ambition of living up to his family name is disrupted when he forms an unexpected connection to a member of the royal family.”

Dune: The Sisterhood will be set in the universe of Frank Herbert’s epic Dune novel series and will take place 10,000 years prior to the events of the original Dune book. The series is told through the eyes of a mysterious order of women known as the Bene Gesserit. Armed with extraordinary abilities, this group of women weaves through the feudal politics of Dune, pursuing their own plans that ultimately lead them to the enigmatic planet Arrakis and the events of Denis Villeneuve’s Dune films.

Emily Watson will be playing Valya Harkonnen, while Shirley Henderson is portraying Tula Harkonnen. Joining them are Indira Varma, Sarah-Sofie Boussnina, Shalom Brune-Franklin, Faoileann Cunningham, Aoife Hinds, Chloe Lea, and Travis Fimmel.

RELATED: Dune: The Sisterhood Prequel Series Adds Travis Fimmel, Details Character

The project hails from Legendary Television. It is executive produced by Diane Ademu-John, who was previously a co-showrunner along with Alison Schapker. Executive producers are Schapker, Denis Villeneuve, Jon Spaihts, Scott Z. Burns, Matthew King, John Cameron, and Cait Collins, along with Brian Herbert, Byron Merritt, and Kim Herbert, on behalf of the Frank Herbert estate.

Source link